RSS

The Full Verson Of The Serenity Prayer, and MamaC update

20 Feb

Did you know the serenity prayer is longer than the ortin used at most anonymous groups? I didnt. Did you know it really is about God getting us through? i didnt. Lately I have been really having some bad bipolar issues, mood swings, and not sleeping for forty hours at a stretch twice in the past three weeks are the most dominant. Im trying to cling to Christ in it, however. Cling to his truth, get in the word, pray. Do what else I know I need to do like try to force myself to sleep at normal times and to remember to take my medicine.These things seem really simple and easy for 99 percent of you reading this post, but for me sometimes they are extremely hard to do, esp if the kids are having a bad day too. Sometimes you just need to know when to ask for help. I finally did, and asked DH forhelp. Even though it was his weekend anyway and he has to be here with the kids due to some remodeling being done at his parents anyways. He graciously kept them as quiet as possible, went grocery shopping for me, cleaned my house did my laundry, cooked for the kids. let me sleep as much as I needed. he was just simply there for m,e and loving me by serving our family. it reminded me why I am so committed to making this marriage work and why I do really love him so much.

Back to the serenty prayer here is the full version. Soak it in, pray it, really take in the words.

The Full Version of the Serenity Prayer


God, grant me the Serenity
To accept the things I cannot change…
Courage to change the things I can,
And Wisdom to know the difference.

Living one day at a time,
Enjoying one moment at a time,
Accepting hardship as the pathway to peace.
Taking, as He did, this sinful world as it is,
Not as I would have it.
Trusting that He will make all things right
if I surrender to His will.
That I may be reasonably happy in this life,
And supremely happy with Him forever in the next.
Amen.

Attributed to Reinhold Neibuhr

 

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 20, 2012 in General

 

Leave a Reply

 
